YAO 2013

Midlands Ultracold Atoms Research Centre,
University of Birmingham, UK

8th April 2013 to 12th April 2013

Abstract Book

The YAO2013 Abstract Book is available for download here.

IOP addition

We are happy to announce that participants of 2013 YAO conference have free entry to the one day conference of the QQQ group (Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control Group) of the Institute of Physics (IOP) on Friday 12th of February. More information.

About the conference

YAO is a yearly conference whose main goal is to create an international society of young scientists who specialize in quantum optics with a special focus on cold atomic gases. During these meetings experimentalists as well as theorists have a chance to present their research and results while also taking part in thought provoking discussions on their topics, whether it be in the form of a short presentation or a poster during the poster session. The participants of this conference are usually young doctoral students, but the conference is also open to masters students or really any young scientist who are beginning their work in the field of atomic physics.

The very first meeting of YAO was organized in Innsbruck (Austria, 1995). In the following years, YAO has been hosted by: Oxford (UK, 1996), Parco dell'Orecchiella (Italy, 1997), Gif-sur-Yvette (France, 1998), Potsdam (Germany, 1999), Brighton (UK, 2000), Stuttgart (Germany, 2001), Volterra (Italy, 2002), Amsterdam (The Netherlands, 2003) and back to Innsbruck (Austria, 2004) whereafter Hannover (Germany, 2005), Palaiseau (France, 2006), Durham (UK, 2007), Florence (Italy, 2008), Vienna (Austria, 2009), and again to Amsterdam (Holland, 2010), again Hannover (Germany 2011). Last year's conference took place at the Institute of Physics of Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland.

Organising Committee

In 2013 the doctoral students of the Quantum Matter Group of the University of Birmingham will be the hosts.

The YAO 2013 organising committee consists of: Lawrence Mudarikwa, Komal Pahwa, Christopher Embrey, Jonathan Malcolm, Alexander Niggebaum, Charlotte O'Neale and Marisa Perea.