Ehud Altman (Weizmann)

Vincent Boyer (Birmingham)

Eugene Demler (Harvard)

Francesca Ferlaino (Innsbruck)

Juan P. Garrahan (Nottingham)

Zoran Hadzibabic (Cambridge)

Sebastian Hofferberth (MIT / Stuttgart)

Christiane Koch (Kassel)

Benjamin Lev (Stanford)

Markus Oberthaler (Heidelberg)

Belén Paredes (Munich)

Thorsten Schumm (Vienna TU)

Vlatko Vedral (Oxford / Singapore)

Download the programme.


The school will take place in the Carmen de la Victoria, in Granada, Spain. The participants will be accommodated in the Colegio Mayor San Bartolome y Santiago, in the city centre.



Please download (doc / pdf) and complete the application form and return it by email to muarc_summerschool@nottingham.ac.uk. Places on the summer school are limited so early registration is recommended. Applications will be considered by a selection panel to achieve an appropriate balance of attendees.

A registration fee of £300 / 345€ will be payable after acceptance. The fee will cover participation, accommodation, lunches, reception buffet and conference dinner. Substantial financial aid will be available upon application, especially for PhD students registered in the United Kingdom.

DEADLINE. Apply from 31 March to 15 July to ensure that your application will be considered. Past that deadline, applications will be considered only if there are places remaining.

Supported by

  • GENIL (Granada Excellence Network of Innovation Laboratories)
  • CeiBioTic Granada
  • Eagleyard Photonics
  • Pfeiffer Vacuum
  • Toptica Photonics
  • Master programs FISYMAT and MTAF (University of Granada)

Organising Committee

Beatriz Olmos, Peter Krüger and Lucia Hackermüller (University of Nottingham)

Rosario González-Férez and Jesús Sánchez-Dehesa (University of Granada)